Inspiration 001

Posted: March 24, 2012 in Inspiration, Street Photography
Tags: , , , , ,

I’ve been dying to go out and hit the streets for days now but unfortunately I’m stuck in a hospital… Don’t worry, I’m fine and probably be on my way home tomorrow (hopefully).

So I decided to use this time I have to start a series of posts sharing with you some of the photographers that inspire me.

It’s not a big secret that I’m into old school street photography, I think it reflects well in my work although I try to bring my own twist and some more modern approaches as well.

I like to get close to my objects, I like to be involved in the scene even if it’s just for a split of a second. I have adopted Robert Capa’s famous words – “If your pictures aren’t good enough, you’re not close enough” and Henri Cartier-Bresson’s decisive moment approach but they are not the topic of this post.

One of my inspirations is William Klein.

Willian Klein

Willian Klein

Klein may not be regarded as a street photographer by today’s purist street photography fans, he was not very candid about his photography, often directly approaching and provoking his subjects, squeezing the emotions he was looking for.

William Klein

William Klein

But non the less regardless of his interventions his work reflect and document the times he was working in, in a truthfully manner, giving us the viewers a real glimpse to the people and the street life of the times the pictures were taken.

William Klein

William Klein

To me his ability to keep it real regardless of his interventions makes him a great street photographer in the purest form of street photography.

Street Photography By Sagi-K

Street Photography By Sagi-K

Street Photography by Sagi-K

Street Photography by Sagi-K

Comments
  1. volcman says:

    i hope that you were released from the hospital by now, and that you feel well.

    i liked the post a lot.

Leave a Reply

